Electrical Contractor / Low Voltage & Limited Contractor


Electrical Contractor 
    New & Renewal 400.00
    All electrical contractor licenses will expire on July 1 next following the date of issue.

License Requirements:

Electrical Contractors must actively employ in a full-time capacity a Wyoming licensed master electrician who will serve as the master of record.  This individual will assume responsibility to ensure that the NEC, 
W.S. 35-9-120 through W.S. 35-9-130 and applicable rules of the department are adhered to on all electrical work undertaken by the electrical contractor in the State of Wyoming. 

A master of record can ONLY be a master of record for one (1) company and must have a Wyoming Masters license.  

Master Electrician Licensing can be obtained by 2 methods: examination or reciprocation.  

Click the link below to be directed to the process and requirements for that method of licensure.  Be sure you meet the qualifications before completing an application.


You cannot proceed with a contractors license until you have a Wyoming licensed Master Electrician to be the Master of Record (Qualifier).

All Electrical Contractor licenses will expire on July 1 next following the date of issue. 

Managing apprentices with supervision and ratios

Supervision
Apprentice Years are as follows:
Apprentice Year 1 - OJT 0-1999 and school 0-143 hours, Supervision: 100%
Apprentice Year 2 - OJT 2000-3999 and school 144-287 hours, Supervision: 100%
Apprentice Year 3  - OJT 4000-5999 and school 288-431 hours, Supervision: 50%
Apprentice Year 4 - OJT 6000 – 7999 and school 432-575 hours, Supervision: 25%
Apprentice Year 5 - OJT 8000 -10000 and school 576+ hours, Supervision: 25%
Apprentice Year 6 - OJT 10000 + and school 576+, Supervision:100%

Ratios
35-9-127 (a)
licensed journeyman or master electrician shall supervise each
apprentice electrician. A licensed journeyman or master
electrician shall not supervise more than two (2) apprentice
electricians at the same time. 



Click below to access the


Need more information on rules and statutes?

***Quick links to printable forms needed for on-line applications***

If you have questions contact Bridget Carson @ 307-777-7907 or email bridget.carson@wyo.gov

Low Voltage/Limited Contractor 
    New & Renewal 200.00
    All low voltage/limited electrical contractor licenses will expire on July 1 next following the      date of issue.

License Requirements:

Low Voltage / Limited Electrical Contractors must actively employ in a full-time capacity a Wyoming licensed low voltage/limited technician/journeyman electrician /master electrician who will serve as the technician of record.  This individual will assume responsibility to ensure that the NEC, 
W.S. 35-9-120 through W.S. 35-9-130 and applicable rules of the department are adhered to on all electrical work undertaken by the low voltage/limited electrical contractor in the State of Wyoming. 

A technician of record can ONLY be a technician of record for one (1) company and must be Wyoming licensed.

Technician Licensing can only be obtained through examination.

Click the link below to be directed to the process and requirements for examination.  Be sure you meet the qualifications before completing an application.


You cannot proceed with a contractors license until you have a Wyoming licensed Master, Journeyman or Technician  to be the Technician of Record (Qualifier).

All low voltage/limited electrical contractor licenses will expire on July 1 next following the date of issue.

Click below to access the


Need more information on rules and statutes?


***Quick links to printable forms needed for on-line applications***

If you have questions contact Bridget Carson @ 307-777-7907 or email bridget.carson@wyo.gov